Become a supplier
Apr 11, 2018/ 8:08

Formula E Confirms Season Six Manufacturers

Formula E Confirms Season Six Manufacturers

With its new Gen2 car hitting the streets at the end of the year, the motorsports governing body FIA has confirmed the full list of manufacturers that will homologate powertrains from Formula E’s sixth season.

Mercedes-Benz and Porsche are set to join the list of automotive brands, showing their commitment to not just the electric street racing series but also the electric technology for the road, says Formula E.

"Mercedes-Benz and Porsche are both brands with long and decorated histories in motorsport, and the level of all of the 11 manufacturers that will take to the track from 2019–20 is very high," FIA President Jean Todt said.

"We continue to exceed all of the initial expectations set out when we started this journey just four years ago. If you had said to me then that we would be in double figures in terms of recognizable names in the world of motorsport, biggest road car manufacturers and automotive brands—I would have said you were crazy. But this is the reality now," Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said.

The two additions for season six will have a two-year homologation period until the next cycle begins for the 2021–22 ABB FIA Formula E Championship.

The full listing of manufacturers for season six is as follows:

    •    Audi Sport
    •    BMW AG
    •    DS Automobiles
    •    Jaguar Land Rover
    •    Mahindra Racing
    •    Mercedes-Benz
    •    NextEV NIO
    •    Nissan
    •    Penske Autosport
    •    Porsche AG
    •    Venturi Automobiles