Become a supplier
Jun 08, 2018/ 8:08

Formula E, FIA Announce New Race Format, Season Five Calendar

Formula E, FIA Announce New Race Format, Season Five Calendar

Formula E and the FIA have revealed the calendar for the 2018-19 ABB FIA Formula E Championship, as well as details on the new race format and split power modes on offer alongside the new-look next-generation car in season five.

The FIA released more details on changes to the race format taking into account the increased power and energy storage capacity of the Gen2 car for the coming season, which can complete a full race distance without the need to make a mid-race car swap.

It will also be mandatory for drivers to use two different power modes over a race distance.

Drivers will be able to access 225kW of power in a higher mode—as opposed to the standard 200kW available during the race—once they’ve passed through a single activation zone. The activation zone will be visible and marked out on the circuit for fans. The two power modes on each car will be indicated using different colors on the LED system on the halo head protection device.

The exact number of individual uses and relative duration of the higher power mode will vary at each event and will be determined by the FIA. It will be at the discretion of the teams and drivers when to activate the higher power mode throughout the race within limits set by the FIA.

Drivers will also be able to activate FANBOOST—the unique interactive voting mechanism that allows three drivers to receive extra energy—only when the cars are running on a higher power mode, taking the maximum power available to 250kW.

Other alterations for season five include changes to the number of cars making it through to the super pole shoot-out, to accommodate the larger grid of 22 cars. The new qualifying format now sees the top-six fastest drivers after the group stages battle it out to secure Julius Baer pole position.

Race distances will no longer be measured using a pre-defined number of laps, but will instead run to a strict time limit of 45-minutes plus one lap to reach the checkered flag. The prize for fastest lap will also be replaced, with points being awarded to the most efficient driver classified in the top-five positions, rewarding the driver who has used the least amount of energy.

The 2018-19 calendar was published following the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) meeting in Manila and features 13 races in 12 cities across four continents—starting in Ad Diriyah with the debut of Formula E in the Middle East on December 15, and coming to a close in New York with a doubleheader July 13–14.

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship returns to existing locations including Marrakesh, Mexico City and Hong Kong. Together with events in Africa, Asia and North America—next season also sees the introduction of the newly-titled voestalpine European races.

Formula E cars will tackle a number of cities spanning the continent, with the European leg comprising of races in Rome, Paris, Berlin and Zurich, in addition to visiting the streets of Monaco for a third time on May 11.